Meseret Defar of Ethiopia claimed the award for the Performance of the Year award

November 13th, 2006 Print Print Email Email

IAAF| November 13, 2006

Asnake Meseret Defar of Ethiopia claimed the award for the Performance of the Year award in the women’s category for establishing the 5000m world record in New York City.
In June, Defar, the reigning Olympic champion in the 5000 meters, set a world record of 14:24.53 over the distance at the Reebok Grand Prix in New York in June, retained her world indoor title in the 3000 meters, and capped the season with a win at the World Cup.

Simpson, 22, emerged as the premiere women’s sprinter in the world this year, winning her last nine races in the 100 meters. She was also the year’s world leader at both the 100 and 200 after her 10.82/22.00 double victory at June’s Jamaican national championships.
Woldemeskel Kostre head Coach of Ethiopian national team (Ethiopia)won Coaches’ Award.

Jamaican Asafa Powell, the world-record holder in the 100m, and 400m queen Sanya Richards of the United States were yesterday named as the Association of International Athletics Federations’ Athletes of the Year at the 2006 World Athletics Gala.

Last year, world record holders Kenenisa Bekele of Ethiopia and Yelena Isinbayeva of Russia received the annual honor, each for the second straight time. Since the award’s inception in 1988, only two athletes have earned the honor more than twice. Hicham El Guerrouj of Morocco, the world record holder in the 1500m and the mile who retired from competition this year, was named athlete of the year three consecutive times, from 2001-2003. U.S. sprinter Marion Jones received the accolade in 1997, 1998 and 2000.

Comments are closed.